One of the Movie Posters, taken from http://www.fushionmag.com/ May the odds be ever in your favor.

I think I’m going to jump on the bandwagon… I read The Hunger Games. I saw the trailer for the movie coming out on March 23rd, 2012, and decided that if I was going to see the movie, I might as well know how well it compares to the book, which has been a best-seller in the world of YA lit. Needless to say, I read the whole thing in two afternoons, during which absolutely no homework got done.

This might be a good point to insert a DISCLAIMER: I’m going to start talking about the book now, and I am not responsible for the comments that may pop up regarding spoilers for the book or the movie. My point here is to start conversation, so if you’re worried about reading something that will ruin the end of the book/movie, you’ve been warned.

Anyway, I just wanted to point out that Collins did a masterful job with the book. While not particularly exciting in terms of diction or word choice, the voice was in first-person present tense (a voice very difficult to pull off). Plus, the words, dialogue, and descriptions all match beautifully with her portrayal of the main character, Katniss. I was immediately drawn into the story, what with my identification with Katniss, as well as the present-tense voice that keeps the reader involved in every aspect of the story. Then, there’s the TWIST ENDING! Oh my goodness, I had some suspicions about the reversal of the rule put forth in the middle of the Games, and that it would be reversed, but I was so scared that she was going to kill off one or two of my favorite characters!

To stop my ranting, I have to applaud Collins for backing herself into a proverbial corner, plot-wise. I wonder, did she plan how to end it when she arrived at that point in the story, or did she have to think on the spot? Many characters have done this to me; then I have to find a way to keep them out of the trouble they instigated. Is it risky for writers who don’t plan out their books, but more write on the fly, to let the plot drag them into situations such as the showdown on the last day of the Hunger Games? What is the effect on readers if the writer does not satisfactorily resolve such a situation? Also, why create a character like Katniss, who doesn’t even understand her feelings throughout much of the book? Are characters who do not know their own minds more relatable, or just more fun?

You can comment if you’re stoked about the movie too. Oh, and when it comes to getting tickets for opening night, may the odds be ever in your favor.

