Growing up, my favorite movie was Peter Pan. Well, that’s not entirely true. Perhaps a better beginning to this post would be, Growing up, my favorite concept was Peter Pan. To this day, I still have never seen the Disney rendition of Peter Pan. I grew up on a filmed stage-play rendition, which my older sister ruined for me by revealing that the actor who played Peter was actually female (it was almost as bad as realizing that black coffee doesn’t taste nearly as good as it smells). But I had heard the story of Peter Pan (or bits of it), and that was enough to capture my attention. The idea of flying, never having to grow up, living a life of adventure–it seemed ideal to my young mind. And my young heart. Unfortunately, I was told around the time that I was eight that to believe in such things, much less long for something like it, was absurd and to be put away in the toybox.

I don’t know who posted this, but it is awesome.
http://weheartit.com/entry/13013392

Much to my mother’s dismay, my interest was piqued again when I was twelve with the release of a live action version of the tale, which I immediately devoured. My sister says that I loved it because of the main actor. My mom was afraid that I loved it because I didn’t want to grow up. What I think (though it might have been a mix of the previous two as well… I mean, I was twelve) is that I fell in love with the idea of escaping, going to a place entirely new, dangerous and yet still innocent, with adventure at every turn.

I have a Neverland Heart. It’s why I write. It’s why we read. It’s why we daydream. It’s why the idea of time travel is so intriguing; we can’t be too crazy if we only escape to the world that once was, or is yet to be, as opposed to yearning for one that “doesn’t exist.” That’s the sad reality of reality. But what if we didn’t worry about being crazy? Or what if those who don’t seek after Neverland are the crazy ones?

My Neverland Heart still looks for the glimmers that others might miss simply because looking for them is “childish.”  Well then, I’m a child. I realize that I’m growing up, and I don’t regret it. But honestly, what happened to the wonder? Our world has it; can you see it? Looking with a child’s eyes… yearning with a child’s heart. One that’s not deterred by sarcasm or pessimism. Undaunted hope. Looking for the chance to take Peter’s hand. Come away to Neverland.

I mean, why not?

P.S. This post was brought on because for my last birthday, I received a DVD entitled “Neverland,” which was a tv mini-series on Syfy. Has anyone ever seen it? I’m trying to decide if watching it would be fun, even if it isn’t accurate, or if it would ruin something. Let me know!

