I just may be getting back to the point where I want to write again. It’s all started very slowly, of course, but it gives me hope that I won’t be in a writing drought forever. Let me give you a couple things that have been going on lately that give me hope for an end to my writer’s block:

1) Purse shopping. This might seem really random, but it actually did seem like a small step toward getting back into writing. I was meeting a friend for dinner near the mall and I had arrived early, so stepped into a store. I wandered into the purse section, and while I knew I wasn’t going to buy anything, I started wondering what kind I would buy if I did have an excuse/money. I realized that I wanted a bag–not just a purse, but something large enough to carry a wallet, my keys, a cell phone, a large book, and a good sized notebook and at least 3 pens all at once without getting too full. Regardless of how much weight that would be, I was so happy that the thought of carrying a notebook around again was appealing.

2) Meeting with amazing writers. One thing that I really do miss about college is being around amazing people and even better writers. I’ve been able to meet with a couple in the past few weeks, and being reminded why I love the written word has been healing. Talking with people who are passionate about what they do is infectious. I am so grateful for you all in my life; you know who you are.

3) Reading the works of amazing writers. I recently had the privilege to meet with one amazing writer in particular and read a draft of her YA novel. Being able to critique again, remember what makes writing so marvelous, and talking with her about the love of her characters and the books that have inspired her writing made me want to emulate her and write something worthy of someone else’s raving, like I did for her. If you want to see why I was ranting, start reading Jackie’s novel here–well, at least the two chapters that I could find on her blog (Ch. 1: http://jackieleasommers.com/2012/08/17/revisiting-chapter-one/    And Ch. 2:  http://jackieleasommers.com/2012/09/09/sunday-afternoon-reading-chapter-two/  )

4) Being reminded by characters in these stories why I fell in love with writing in the first place. I cannot tell you how grateful I am for Jackie Lea Sommers. She is just amazing. Her writing is resonant, and I love talking with this woman who is so filled with love of God, words, writing, characters, and story. And John Green. Anyway, one of her latest characters (from the novel in the links that I posted above) was a writer, and the way that he spoke about writing helped me to remember what adventure it is to write, to create, and to feel how each word slides, grates, caresses, jumps, tickles across my fingertips as I type it. Not only is Silas Hart a well-fashioned character and fun to be around, but he reminds me of how writing is a mystery, even to the author, and how it is so much more than word-craft.

5) Visiting my college for the first time since graduation. Another shout out to Jackie, but I found I had to use her words when I visited my college for the first time since graduation today. We recently met at a Caribou near school, and she commented how she hadn’t been there in such a long time, and how it was like coming home–the place where she had gone nearly all the time to write her first novel. I sat in the exact same chair today as I had been lounging in as I put the finishing touches on my senior capstone and submitted it. Revisiting the place where I had done my last considerable stint of writing. It was good to remember how I felt about writing then, where I could sit and actually enjoy my work, my art.

And that’s how I’m working myself out of this pit devoid of creativity. I have had certain bursts of words, where they have a distinct taste. The comeback will happen… just waiting for it all to erupt.

Oh, and I listened to this song today. It also happened while I was finishing my capstone. Comeback by Redlight King from The Avengers.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGmOz2MQPh4

